By Jerome Saintjones, M.Ed., Ed.S.,

The Rosetta James Foundation will hold its first “Honoring Our Elders” Celebration since the COVID-19 pandemic that forced the shutdown of numerous places and events in March 2020.

The 2023 event will recognize 18 men and women (some posthumously)who have demonstrated volunteerism continuously beyond their 70th birthdays. Thus, the 15th annual day gala will be held March 11 at the Von Braun Center’s South Hall at 12 noon. The Foundation also awards scholarships to college students who maintain an active collegiate schedule that includes volunteerism.

Honorees for 2023 include the following: Mrs. Edna E. Davis Brown (posthumously), former nurse’s aide; Mrs. Maureen Davis Cathey, retired student account supervisor; Mr. Allen Cothron, retired Army education facilitator; Mrs. Marie Ann Waters Cothron, retired Spanish teacher; Mrs. Ida Crawford, retired public school librarian; Mrs. Gloria Dawson (posthumous), retired educator Mrs. Ruby Dickson, former administrative assistant; Mrs. Bettye Dixie, retired career counselor; Mrs. Sarah Drake, retired educator; Mrs. Mary Ann Flowers, retired educator; Mrs. Ruby Ford, retired accountant; Dr. Parker Griffith, physician; Mrs. Bhavani Kakani, community and health advocate; Mr. Richard Knight, veterans advocate; Dr. Prince Preyer, retired educator/commissioner; Dr. Horace Rice, retired educator/arbitrator; Dr. Cynthia Smith, former educator/administrator; and Mr. LaVern Spearman, retired senior physicist.